urban

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The smell of paint cans had brought me back my days in Ventura, California. Scoping out spots to shoot photos of my friends taggin up some urban scenes. It is random how the the scent of these awful chemicals could bring back memories of the great life cali life I once had. But today, I join up with a local St. Paul buddy who knew of some spots and good pieces. As we were on the bus I noticed a middle aged man wearing a jacket, that looked like a pimp costume out of super mario 3. Being mostly envious at his fashion choice during this below farenheit weather. He may look ridiculous but damn does he look comfortable. After spending most of the morning riding the bus across town. I find myself surrounded by snowtracks and midday sunrays that have enlightened this journey. Trekking through the woods one might have thought of a masked murderer emerging from the bushes. Yet I find comfort that no one on earth knows we are here. At this point, I get a great view of the ford bridge and the river bottom. Upon our presence there lays a graffiti haven. Hopping down from spot to spot I admire the midwest style. Made me appreciate spots in Ventura and places I had seen in San Fran a couple years ago. This ongoing lifestyle of expressing urban culture is more then just spraying pint on a wall. Its a voice, people have died over it and for most individuals it is all they have. I hve heard both ends of the controversy of graffiti. One property owner said “that if these kids get shot, they deserve it. They are ruining my property.” This empowers this community even more because at least it is having an effect.

Listening to: wiz khalifa” black and yellow”

Leave a Reply

