Powderhorn 24 – 24 hours before

Dear world,

It’s been awhile, anyways the past month has been a very amazing experience for myself. Around the fourth of July I had heard talks of the Powderhorn 24 race august 9-10. I had never dreamed of doing a bike race of any sort, rather a 24 hour event to boot. But as I rushed to find a team before the last minutes of registration I found myself throwing 15 dollars to a solo team of course named “SURE DUDE”. I began my training over the next month adding 2 hours a day to my bike ride each week, til I was biking about 6 hours a day  – 4 days a week. Basically giving me no time to worry about anything outside of exercise and work. To be honest I’m glad it has finally arrived as my focus for competing against myself and the limits of my body. First of all, I was in the beginning stages of building a new bike as my bicycle last year was donated to whoever took it haha, anyways I was up in the air about using a friends bike that I’ve been borrowing this summer. As the days have gotten closer I was a little hesitant to purchase a new bike within the week to get comfortable with and the Univega has slowly become attached to my soul and nor did I want to instantly gratify my bike purchase. So I decided to over haul and basically strip it down to clean it.  So, I am writing this post to give you an overview of how bicycling has integrated into my life over the past few years. It was living in boulder and finding a better and fun means of transportation. Now it has taken over my life and I could not be more thrilled by the benefits. Changing my diet this past few months has done a number on my fitness level and boasting my energy and endurance, I have even lasted longer in my rock climbing ventures because of it.  After about a year of hurting my body with horrible eating endeavors, vegan-vegetarian diet has suited me well and I’ve never felt better in my life. Finding good quality proteins in many different natural whole foods have boosted my recovery after a good training session. An overall objective with this amazing diet is to veer any chance of diabetes ever showing up in my body. Diabetes runs pretty deep in my family blood line and good nutrition seems to be the best medicine for other potential harm to my brown body.  So to forward, tomorrow I will be documenting mine and others progress of the annual community race. Be there!

August 8, 2013. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2013) August 8, 2013. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2013) August 8, 2013. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2013) August 8, 2013. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2013) August 8, 2013. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2013)I’ll be joining this bike tomorrow as my sidekick in being pretty awesome with over 300 other awesome human beings.

Leave a Reply

