Sure Dude: Creating light

With the coming month s leading up to my trip to Montana I managed to set up a couple photo projects. I overlooked my gear and had some extra cash to slightly upgrade my lighting equipment. Then with all things I was looking for affordable lighting equipment to pursue a specific portraiture look. Over the next few weeks I began my search and read blog, forums and reviews online. Finally I had jumped on the 36″ Inferfit Silver Octabox, with a Speed-lite Speed ring to fit my lighting. Also, I had purchased another speed-lite to produce more back light it if I needed to. After reading into some techniques of using NDF to knockdown the background exposure with lighting setups. Anyways, before my trip tonight I thought I would do some lighting and with the overcast ending up cloudy I thought it would be nice to test them on a housemate Dylan. I also educated him on what I am going for as far as light. I have a record shot of my basic set up and seeing how well the light wraps around the subject. First of all, the Softbox originally took some time to set up but I figured with the price I didn’t mind at all. I’ve gotten it down to 10 minutes to set up and more room to do so. After reading reviews this was a main complaint but the more you practice the better you get at setting up equipment. Overall I love the light setup and I can get some nice light with the NDF attachments. ONE THING I HAVE ALWAYS LEARN IS TEST OUT YOUR EQUIPMENT! Cheers. I would like to get a conversation going on this equipment. For now I did a basic setup.

Test Shoot. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2013) Test Shoot. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2013) Test Shoot. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2013) Test Shoot. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2013) Test Shoot. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2013)

Leave a Reply

