Gallatin Gateway: The Search for Ghost Buffalo

Gallatin gateway to Bigsky

Finally my two months had settled in at the base of Gallatin road. I would pursue a ride that not much have had the opportunity to pursue this time of year. I lucked out as the weather dredged rays of sunlight down on the landscape. It was either this route with a chance of winter storms or flooding in the lower country. I took my chances in the mountains knowing that photo ops would prevail.

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

I took in the landscape during lunch and found it hard to not enjoy my perfect ride.

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

Inching my way up the canyon, people had been cheering out of their cars as most people loved seeing the sight of a bike tourist pedaling. As I would stop to take quick breaks, rolling rocks appeared overhead. These titans stand for miles and miles knowing I am fully committed to this traverse.

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

The trees had their personalities around each corner. I feel like they knew I’d be showing up and dressed for a suitable occasion.

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

As I headed into big sky the altitude and attitude of the mountains had a lingering display. As for some dominant animal puffing its chest and standing strong. Singling out massive peaks and making love with the subtle rays of sun passing through the clouds.

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

Big sky had been welcoming to the reconnection with some old friends and made some new bike tour friends for the late spring time. As my head hit the pillow I arose just as quickly. Altitude sickness had been setting in and my thoughts to continue were up in the air. As usual the mountains would call in a winter storm and the chance to beat it or get stuck in it were hanging over my head. These roads were quite slim and and low visibility would make any traveler even more cautious, But I had to move on rather than stay a couple days.

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

CLIMBING! CLIMBING! CLIMBING!

At time the roads were desolate and times of heavy traffic. The gloom of the day developed taxing moments and every emotional ran through my body. Thinking at times that I was on a descent, the road would flatten and would force me to keep my head down. I’ve had altitude quotes of 6,400 to 7,500 but would hesitate to mind that amazing feet.

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

At this point the signs tell all, it was West Yellowstone or bust as signs notified me of how dangerous camping would be.

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

It felt amazing to get to this point. I had not been through here since I was a child but now to take in the scenery and feel the outdoors, brought liveliness to my soul.

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

The last big chunk of my ride got the best of me. I only conquered a great amount of this mountain but due to bike malfunctions I got a ride into town. Some bike tourist knew the struggles of the road and scooped me up. They commended me on my efforts, but the night was setting in and chancing a night ride for the last miles proved too dangerous.

Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014) Bike tour through Gallatin Gateway. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure dude © 2014)

I now rest up for a day and continue my voyage to Los Angeles.

2 thoughts on “Gallatin Gateway: The Search for Ghost Buffalo

  1. Love.
    It’s all a journey of love & you have the opportunity to share with us in a way that we get to adventure with you.
    keep it up my friend!

  2. Zane, you are such an inspiration! Prayers for you that Maheo will watch over you on your journey. Please be careful

Leave a Reply

