Island Park: The Descent

Arising to clicks and clatter, rushing back and forth, little kid voice, coffee pot churning and a family producing a new day. The night before had been a joy as I a family who had lived in Ashland , MT. It was great to watch their kids play and dog love and be surrounded by new people. This day would be rejuvenated but with a bit of unsettling feelings as I dreaded ice on the roads. As the family set off on their day I paced around the house waiting for a moment to leave as the sun burst through the clouds I knew I had to enjoy this moment. Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014) Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014) Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014) Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014) Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014) Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014)

As I made my way down the driveway I prayed the roads would not be covered in snow and ice. The roads were so perfect and I began biking around Lake Henry with gusts of wind up to 30 miles per hour. But as I rolled forward the sights were amazing and agreed that I would have clearance to do some damage this day.

Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014) Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014)

Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014) Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014)Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014)

This is basically what I saw all day and it felt like an old school video game. I had kept a steady pace and gained some free mileage as I descended the mountain and at time the Tetons would poke through the mountains. As the sunset a buddy saw off the road before Idaho Falls and happened to know my Great uncle Norman Spang at dropped me off.

Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014)

Island Park, ID, 2014. (photo by zane spang/ sure dude © 2014)

Idaho seems to have this feeling that brings me back to my childhood. I felt comfortable as soon as I arrived.

