West Yellowstone: Lonely tourist

Vacant Town

West Yellowstone wouldn’t be the great vacation spot I had remembered as a young child. As I Check out of my motel I was reminded by the office that most places were closed in the area. I had a stop at the grizzly bear and wolf center to feel a sense of loneliness as the employee perked up as if he had been anxiously waiting for something to happen. I only did a lap around the gift shop before I checked out the next shop. I headed to a local bike shop and discussed my travels from Bozeman as they peered through the window and admired my bike setup. Things were put in perspective as bike enthusiast were appalled at the timing of the trip.

West Yellowstone. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2014)

As the mix of rain and snow flowed through the town and a great cup of coffee settled in my stomach. The altitude sickness made for some surreal moments as the usual wtf am I doing ran through my head.

West Yellowstone. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2014)

West Yellowstone. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2014)

West Yellowstone. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2014)

West Yellowstone. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2014)

I hibernate a bit at a local coffee shop to regain any sane thoughts and today would be a waiting game but some family friends knew of my journey and had taken me in for the night as a white out had rolled in.

West Yellowstone. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2014)

I rather enjoy the loneliness of this town. I think the over populated tourist season would feel to over whelming. I like the feeling of “crazy” and the odd reactions from the locals of what normal really is. Where I had traveled wasn’t normal and for me to do what is expected wouldn’t feel like an adventure. But I quickly humble myself because I am sure many have done crazier stuff but I now feel closer than ever  to people who face their fears.

West Yellowstone. (Photo by Zane Spang/Sure Dude © 2014)

Leave a Reply

